A foreigner loan in Singapore is harder to get than a local one, but not because the law shuts you out. It comes down to two things: the work pass you hold and the income you can prove. An Employment Pass holder earning S$42,000 a year can qualify for a bank loan. A Work Permit holder usually cannot, and is steered toward a licensed moneylender with much smaller legal caps. This guide maps every realistic route in 2026, the income bar for each, the rates banks actually quote, and the borrowing limits the Ministry of Law sets for foreigners so you can pick the cheapest option you actually qualify for.
Yes, but eligibility is a sliding scale, not a yes-or-no door. Permanent Residents are treated almost like citizens. Employment Pass and S Pass holders can borrow from banks if their income clears a higher bar. Work Permit holders are rarely approved by banks and lean on licensed moneylenders. Student Pass and Dependant Pass holders have the hardest time, since neither pass guarantees a stable local salary.
Two rules drive every decision a lender makes. First, your pass needs enough validity left, usually at least six months and 12 months for HSBC's instalment loan, because no lender wants the loan to outlive your right to stay. Second, you need provable, recurring Singapore income, since a foreigner with no local credit file is a blank page that the lender prices conservatively.
Update, 14 October 2026: we re-checked each bank's page. DBS takes foreigners from S$60,000 a year if you have no DBS or POSB card or Cashline, with tenures of 6, 12 or 24 months only, HSBC from S$65,000 with the loan capped at one month's income, and Standard Chartered from S$90,000 for Employment Pass holders only, with a S$199 first-year fee taken from the loan. Not every bank that advertises a personal loan will lend to a non-citizen. The lowest foreigner bar we found in 2026 is Citi Quick Cash, which states a minimum annual income of S$42,000 for foreigners against S$30,000 for Singaporeans and PRs (as of October 2026). Quick Cash runs on a Citi credit card or Ready Credit account, so a new customer applies for one of those first. UOB, by contrast, lists its personal loan as Singaporean and PR only. So before you compare a flat rate, confirm the lender actually accepts your passport.
Bank pricing is quoted two ways and the gap matters. The advertised flat rate looks cheap because it ignores how your balance falls each month. The figure that reflects true cost is the Effective Interest Rate (EIR), which Singapore lenders must display. A 3.45% flat rate from Citi, offered to new card or Ready Credit holders, works out to a 6.5% p.a. EIR (as of October 2026). Always compare on EIR, never on the flat number on the banner.
Loan size is pegged to income. Citi Quick Cash offers up to 4 times your monthly income, rising to 8 times if you earn S$120,000 a year or more, while HSBC caps a foreigner at one month's income. So an EP holder on S$5,000 a month is realistically looking at up to S$20,000 from Citi, not the six-figure sums marketed at high earners. Run your repayment through the compound interest calculator before you sign, because the EIR compounds against you.
| Lender / product | Foreigner income bar | Indicative flat rate | Indicative EIR | Processing fee | Max loan |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Citi Quick Cash | S$42,000 p.a. | From 3.45% p.a. | 6.5% p.a. | 0% | 4x monthly (8x if S$120k+) |
| Standard Chartered CashOne | S$90,000 p.a., Employment Pass only | From 0.90% | From 1.75% p.a. (2.15% with the fee) | S$199 first-year annual fee | Not stated |
| HSBC Personal Loan | S$65,000 p.a., Employment Pass with 12 months left | From 1.30% | From 2.50% p.a. | None advertised; EIR includes 1% (min S$88) where applicable | 1x monthly income for foreigners |
| UOB Personal Loan | Singaporean/PR only | From 1.00% | From 1.93% p.a. | S$0 (waived) | Not stated |
| DBS / POSB Personal Loan | S$60,000 p.a. without a DBS card or Cashline | From 1.48% | From 3.22% p.a. | 1% | Up to 95% of your available Cashline or card limit |
Update, 14 October 2026: since 15 September 2026 you can cancel an unsecured licensed-moneylender loan within three business days of getting the money. You pay back the cash you received with no interest, plus at most S$50 of the approval fee, or 3.5% of the principal on loans above S$5,000. If a bank says no, a licensed moneylender is the legal alternative. The Ministry of Law caps both the price and the size of these loans, and the size cap is tighter for foreigners on low incomes. A licensed lender appears on the official Registry of Moneylenders list; anyone not on it is unlicensed and illegal, regardless of how professional the office looks.
The price ceiling is the same for everyone: a maximum of 4% interest per month, a maximum of 4% per month late interest on the overdue amount only, a late fee capped at S$60 per month, and an upfront administrative fee of no more than 10% of the principal. Critically, the total of all charges across the life of the loan cannot exceed the original principal. If a lender quotes anything above 4% a month, walk out.
The borrowing limit is where foreigners differ from locals. Under the Moneylenders Rules, a foreigner residing in Singapore who earns less than S$10,000 a year can borrow only S$500 in total across all licensed moneylenders, versus S$3,000 for a citizen or PR in the same bracket. From S$10,000 to S$20,000 a year, foreigners and locals both cap at S$3,000. Above S$20,000, both can borrow up to 6 times monthly income. Compare your numbers against a safe moneylender checklist before committing.
| Annual income | Citizens / PRs | Foreigners in Singapore |
|---|---|---|
| Less than S$10,000 | S$3,000 | S$500 |
| S$10,000 to S$20,000 | S$3,000 | S$3,000 |
| S$20,000 and above | 6x monthly income | 6x monthly income |
Singapore added guardrails because moneylending to foreigners was rising fast. Each licensed moneylender may not lend to more than 300 foreigners, nor hold more than S$150,000 in outstanding principal to foreigners, at any one time. A single lender is also limited to new loans for no more than 15 foreign borrowers in any month and 50 in any year. If a lender is fully booked on its foreigner quota, you may be turned away even when you qualify on income.
Foreigner applications are document-heavy because the lender has no local history to fall back on. Get these ready before you apply, since gaps and mismatches are a top reason foreigners get rejected. A clean, consistent file is the single cheapest thing you can do to improve your odds.
Work top-down by cost. The banks' own pages put their lowest EIRs between 1.75% and 6.5% a year and their top rates at about 17% to 18%, while a licensed moneylender can charge up to 4% a month, with total charges capped at the amount borrowed. So exhaust the bank route first if your pass and income clear the bar, and only drop to a licensed moneylender when a bank declines you.
Borrow the smallest amount that solves the problem and the shortest tenure you can service, because a longer tenure quietly multiplies total interest even at a low flat rate. If the loan is for a one-off expense, check whether a 0% credit-card instalment plan or an emergency fund first would be cheaper than any loan at all. Building three to six months of expenses in a fixed deposit or high-yield account is the only borrowing that never charges interest.
Avoid scatter-gun applying to five lenders at once. Each application can leave a footprint, and a cluster of recent enquiries reads as desperation. Pick the one or two lenders you genuinely qualify for, and apply cleanly.
Banks almost never approve Work Permit holders for personal loans because the income and pass-stability bar is too high. The realistic route is a licensed moneylender, where the legal cap is S$500 if you earn under S$10,000 a year, S$3,000 between S$10,000 and S$20,000, and up to 6 times monthly income above that.
It varies by lender. On the banks' own pages in October 2026, the foreigner bar runs from S$42,000 a year at Citi Quick Cash to S$60,000 at DBS, S$65,000 at HSBC and S$90,000 at Standard Chartered, against S$20,000 to S$30,000 for citizens and PRs at most of them. Licensed moneylenders accept lower incomes but cap the loan size.
The Ministry of Law sets an aggregate cap across all licensed moneylenders combined. A foreigner earning under S$10,000 a year can borrow S$500 in total, S$3,000 between S$10,000 and S$20,000, and up to 6 times monthly income if earning S$20,000 or more a year.
A licensed moneylender can charge a maximum of 4% interest per month, plus up to 4% per month late interest on overdue amounts, a late fee capped at S$60 per month, and a one-time admin fee of at most 10% of the principal. Total charges can never exceed the original loan amount.
Yes, repaying a bank personal loan on time is recorded by the Credit Bureau and gradually builds a local credit file, which makes future borrowing easier and cheaper. Missed payments do the opposite, so only borrow what your monthly cash flow can comfortably service.
This is general financial information for Singapore, not personal financial advice. Figures change, so verify current rates against the official sources above before acting. See our full disclaimer.
Junxiong-WFG Organisation is an authorised representative of AIA Financial Advisers Private Limited (Reg. No. 201715016G).